Download Brochure
Send Enquiry

News And Articles

Transition to the ISO 9001:2015 standard

We all know ISO 9001:2008 has been upgraded to 2015. But what is ISO 9001:2015 and how is it different from ISO 9001:2008? Is there a deadline to implement ISO9001:2015? Can i continue to implement the 2008 standard for my company?

If you have all or any of the above questions in your mind then you are at the right place. We answer all your questions as below:

What is ISO 9001:2015?
ISO 9001:2015 is a quality standard and specifies requirements for a quality management system when an organization wants to demonstrate its ability to consistently provide products and services that meet customer and regulatory requirements

ISO 9001:2008 is also a quality management standard. Then why the transition to 2015?

All ISO standards are reviewed every 5 years to establish if any revision is required to cater to the latest trends.

How is it different from ISO 9001:2008?
While ISO 9001:2008 emplhasized well on the benefits of quality it did not include relevant parties such as shareholders, suppliers, personnel and others. Focus on leadership and engagement is of prime importance in ISO 9001:2015.

Risk was only implicitly mentioned in 9008. This has been explicitly mentioned in the 2015 version.

Moreover the 2015 version has a ‘High Level Structure’, which is same as other standardized management systems. This has made integration of various management systems very simple. So now if an organization wants to implement ISO 14001 or ISO 18001 along with the ISO 9001:2015, the parts that cover the same topic can easily be seen in the standards.

ISO 9001:2015 also places more emphasis on leadership and management commitment. It requires greater involvement by top managers and business leaders in controlling the quality management system. The concept of ‘Management Representative’ no longer exists in the 2015 standard.

Is there a deadline to implement ISO 9001:2015? Can i choose to implement ISO 9001:2008 instead?

While organizations can continue to implement the 2008 standard, the deadline to transition to 2015 is 22nd September 2018. The 2008 version will then become obsolete.

Have more questions?
Please do leave your contact details on the ‘Contact Us’ Form or chat with us on our live chat and we will take you through the entire process.

ISO 18001:2007 Transition to ISO 45001

The new ISO Health & Safety Management Systems Standard has been published since March 2018. Companies that are ISO 18001 certified have 3 years to transition to the new standard.

One major difference between ISO 18001 and ISO 45001 is that while the former takes a reactive approach towards hazard control ISO 45001 takes a more proactive approach by involving top management in hazard control.

ISO 45001 follows a preventive process, which evaluates hazard risks as opposed to controlling hazard as in ISO 18001.

How to select the right ISO Certificate

What is ISO?
ISO or International Organization for Standardization is an independent organization with a membership of 161 national standard bodies.

What are Standards?
ISO Standards are a series of frameworks that help an organization run effectively. They provide world-class specifications for products, services and systems to ensure quality, safety and efficiency. Till date ISO has published 22289 International Standards covering almost every industry.

What standards are required for my company?
There are 1 or more standards that a company might require to run efficiently. While every company has its specific requirements, the most common standards that an organization in UAE might be interested in are ISO 9001:2015 (Quality Management Systems), ISO 14001:2015 (Environmental Management Systems), ISO 18001:2007 (Occupational Health & Safety Management Systems) among many others.

What is ISO Certification?
ISO Certification adds credibility to your organization by demonstrating that your product or service meets the expectations of your customers. Note that your organization does not get certified with ISO but gets certified with a particular ISO standard. For example, “ISO 9001:2015 Certified”.

Does my company require ISO Certification?>
If you want to determine if your company requires an ISO standard, ask yourself the following questions:
Do you want to participate in tenders?
Do you want to show your credibility to your customers?
Do you think there are areas that could be improved in your business?
Do you want to stand out from your competitors?
Do you want to mitigate risks and take preventive actions in your business?
If your answer to any of the above questions is Yes then you definitely need Certification.

How do I get certified for a particular ISO standard?
Each ISO Standard defines a series of frameworks & documents that provide requirements, specifications & guidelines for an organization to get certified for that standard. To help you prepare these documents and get ready for the certification, consultants like ourselves take you through the entire process in an easy and step-by-step manner. We provide all the necessary documentations, trainings and specifications to ensure our clients get certified.

Doesn’t Inzinc provide certification?
Inzinc Consulting is a Consultant and not a Certification Body (CB). A Consultant cannot provide certification as this causes conflict of interest. Having said that, Inzinc affiliates itself with various CBs and prepares the client as per the CB’s requirements.

What are Certification Bodies?
Certification Bodies are Third Party companies that provide certification, a written assurance that the product, service or system meets specific requirement. Issuance of certificate occurs only after the Auditors (Certification Body) reviews the client’s preparedness for the standard and preforms a detailed audit of the company as per the standard’s guidelines.

How do I choose a Certification Body?
While there are numerous certification bodies around the world that issue certificates, CBs could be classified as either accredited or non-accredited. While accreditation is not compulsory, it means that the CB has been assessed against recognized standards to demonstrate their competence, impartiality and capability to issue certificate.

Having said that, a non-accredited certificate does not necessarily mean its not reputable or legal.

When choosing a certification body, you should:

  • Evaluate several certification bodies.
  • Check if the certification body uses the relevant CASCO standard
  • Check if it is accredited. Accreditation is not compulsory, and non-accreditation does not necessarily mean it is not reputable, but it does provide independent confirmation of competence. To find an accredited certification body, contact the national or international accreditation body in your country or visit.

Look for the Accreditation body logo in the accredited certificate.

check the validity status of certificate issued on the data base of certification body or accreditation body.

Our Client